Georgia laws require every corporation, limited liability company, and limited partnership authorized to transact business in the state to file an annual registration. This registration can be filed directly through the state for $50 or through the company's registered agent. Be aware that there are third-party companies sending official-looking letters regarding the filing and potential penalties. While these third-parties are legitimate in that they are providing a needed service for an additional fee, business owners are not required to use their services or respond to the letter. These letters are not official notices but solicitations.

If you receive a letter regarding your annual filing, be sure to read it in its entirety to identify whether the letter is an official letter from the State of Georgia or a solicitation. Businesses are required to file a registration every year and official letters should not be ignored, so always be sure to read the fine print. The state of Georgia annual registration can be filed directly through the Secretary of State for $50 between January 1 and April 1 (